BAXTER COUNTY QUORUM COURT JOURNAL OF PROCEEDINGS

March 1, 2022

The Baxter County Quorum Court met in regular session at 6:00 PM in the Baxter County Courtroom with County Judge Mickey Pendergrass presiding. Members present were: Rhonda "Tink" Albright, Cameron Davis, Angela DeGroote, Maryanne Edge, Dennis Frank, Kevin Litty, Roger Steele, and Dirk Waldrop. Justices Ty Chapman and Charles Osgood were not in attendance. The meeting began with a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance.

Judge Pendergrass asked if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes of the February meeting. Justice Edge moved that the minutes be approved as submitted. Justice DeGroote seconded that motion. All voted in favor.

Justice Davis reported on the Budget Committee meeting which was held immediately preceding this meeting. Minutes of that meeting will be attached to this Journal.

County Treasurer Jenay Mize gave a Treasurer's report. She said the sales tax numbers continue to be very good. She also reported on the county's first federal audit pertaining to the CARES Act funds. That audit was completed and finalized this week.

County Extension Agent Brad Runsick briefly introduced LeeAnn Blevins, who is the new 4-H/FACS agent for Baxter County.

A brief presentation was given by Holly Scoma, the new District 3 Veteran's Services Officer for the State of Arkansas. She provides support to the local Veteran's Services Officers in 9 counties around the area.

Justice Davis made a motion to suspend the rules and add an additional item to the agenda: an appropriation ordinance for the jail. Justice Frank seconded that motion and all voted in favor.

New Business:

Appropriation Ordinance #2022-13, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FEES AND REIMBURSEMENTS RECEIVED IN THE MONTH OF JANUARY TO THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT 2022 BUDGET, was sponsored by Justice Albright and read by title only by County Clerk Canda Reese. Justice Edge moved to adopt, seconded by Justice Davis. Being no discussion, the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Albright, Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Litty, Steele, and Waldrop. The motion carried, and Ordinance #2022-13 was adopted with a vote of 8 YEA, 0 NAY.

Ordinance #2022-14, AN ORDINANCE TO ESTABLISH A COUNTY GENERAL SUB-FUND TO BE CALLED THE ARPA REVENUE REPLACEMENT FUND; AND TO DECLARE AN EMERGENCY, was sponsored by the Budget Committee and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Davis moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Albright. After brief discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Davis, DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Litty, Steele, Waldrop, and Albright. The motion passed, and Ordinance #2022-14 was adopted with a vote of 8 YEA, 0 NAY.

Appropriation Ordinance #2022-15, AN ORDINANCE APPROPRIATING FUNDS TO THE COUNTY JAIL BUDGET, was sponsored by the Budget Committee, and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Albright moved to adopt the ordinance, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices DeGroote, Edge, Frank, Litty, Steele, Waldrop, Albright, and Davis. The motion passed, and Ordinance #2022-15 was adopted with a vote of 8 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2022-3, A RESOLUTION CONFIRMING THE RE-APPOINTMENTS OF TOM TELFORD AND JIM JESTADT BY THE COUNTY JUDGE TO THE NORTHEAST LAKESIDE FIRE DEPARTMENT BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, was sponsored by Justices Litty and Davis, and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Davis motioned to adopt, seconded by Justice Litty. Being no discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Edge, Frank, Litty, Steele, Waldrop, Albright, Davis, and DeGroote. The motion passed, and Resolution #2022-3 was adopted with a vote of 8 YEA, 0 NAY.

Resolution #2022-4, A RESOLUTION TO APPROVE THE PURCHASE OF GOODS OR SERVICES BY BAXTER COUNTY THROUGH COMPETITIVE BIDDING OR PROCUREMENT PROCEDURES USED BY OTHER GOVERNMENTAL ENTITIES OR ORGANIZATIONS UNDER AUTHORITY OF A.C.A. 14-22-106, was sponsored by Justice Edge and read by title only by the Clerk. Justice Albright made a motion to adopt, seconded by Justice Edge. Being no discussion the roll was called. Voting YEA: Justices Frank, Litty, Steele, Waldrop, Albright, Davis, DeGroote, and Edge. The motion passed and Resolution #2022-4 was adopted with a vote of 8 YEA, 0 NAY.

Other Announcements:

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary to the Quorum Court

After other brief comments, and being no further business before the Court, the meeting was adjourned.

Canda J. Reese, Baxter County & Circuit Clerk